Next question. Floyds.

What's Hot
ChuffolaChuffola Frets: 2083
Any reason I wouldn't like them?

Never had a guitar with one. Like the look of the Charvel San Dimas or So-Cal.

Marmite? Shite? Great? Hit me, daddios!

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ToneControlToneControl Frets: 12248
    marmite
  • steamabacussteamabacus Frets: 1291
    edited December 2013
    Haha - well, I'm an expert on disliking Floyds!    :D

For me, the biggest issue is the feeling of being 'locked out' of the guitar (yeah, I know, that's the whole point) when you want to tune. Tuning at the bridge with my right hand feels all wrong.

If I really had a need for a locking vibrato system I'd probably get over it. But I don't.  ;)
  • ThePrettyDamnedThePrettyDamned Frets: 7559
    edited December 2013
    Marmite.

But they're amazing :) good fun, but much, much harder to use than a normal vibrato, even when set up correctly. You need to learn to be musical with it, whereas anyone can make a 6 point sound great.

Which is why I'm going back to a 6 point :)
  • mike_lmike_l Frets: 5700

I Loves them.

No issues with tuning stability (unless the strings are cattle-trucked), just make sure they're properly stretched before you lock the nut down.

If you're not sure leave the trem arm off..

If you use/like a modern 2 point Fender-style trem with block saddles (not bent-steel) then it'll feel pretty similar under your picking hand.

Also, once you get used to changing the strings, and have done it a couple of times, it won't take any longer than a non-Floyd guitar to do.

Ringleader of the Cambridge cartel, pedal champ and king of the dirt boxes (down to 21) 

• Dave_McDave_Mc Frets: 2459
    Pretty much marmite, yeah. If you play music that needs a floyd (or at least would benefit from one), they're great, it's hard to do some of those tricks without one. If you don't you'll probably get annoyed with the extra hassle for little discernible gain.