Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Which guitar shops do you miss?

What's Hot
124»

Comments

• Thetford Music.  Spent many many hours in there playing guitar but mostly just enjoying a good chat with Richard, Glyn and Lee 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • BucketBucket Frets: 7751
    edited September 2016
    Jalapeno said:
    And Kingfisher in High Wycombe - a Dominos Pizza gaff now - bought my Fender Strat there.
    Ah yes, I remember it. Wasn't a great shop by the time I started playing though, and closed down a year or two after I found it.

Used to be my closest music shop though - only a few miles from me when I lived in Amersham.
    - "I'm going to write a very stiff letter. A VERY stiff letter. On cardboard."
  • Philly_QPhilly_Q Frets: 23536
    John Ham, Swansea. (Brother of Pete Ham of Badfinger fame)
    I didn't know the Pete Ham connection!  

That was the first music shop I used to visit just to stare in the window - I remember they had a Fender "The Strat" and one of those silver 25th anniversary Strats.  I got my first guitar and amp there.
  • Philly_Q said:
    John Ham, Swansea. (Brother of Pete Ham of Badfinger fame)
    I didn't know the Pete Ham connection!  

That was the first music shop I used to visit just to stare in the window - I remember they had a Fender "The Strat" and one of those silver 25th anniversary Strats.  I got my first guitar and amp there.

Yes... when Pete died, I remember there being a few cabs with Badfinger stencilled on them. Tragic.