What is the best guitar you have ever played?

What's Hot

Comments

• ewalewal Frets: 2658
    Probably my Reverend Manta Ray or partsa Toronado. They're the ones I think of as my sound, and the ones I've written tunes on I'm happiest with.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • OilCityPickupsOilCityPickups Frets: 11146
    tFB Trader
    A 1962 Telecaster in red - well it was red when it left the factory, but by the time I played it it had virtually no finish left on it.
    I was loaned it for three years back in the 80s. 

I used to go to a local pub that had a comedy night, and there was an older Liverpudlian comic who I got talking to. He soon twigged I was a musician, and told me that in his youth he'd played in lots of 'beat' bands and still had some of his old gear. 
    It turned out that he and his wife owned a local small hotel, and to cut a long story short I used to get invited to have an after hours drink in the fellah's hotel bar fairly regularly. One day he brought out this battered Tele and asked me to try it.
    It was superb, the neck fitted my hand like a glove and played through the guys AC30 it sounded amazing. I spent ages playing it - then told the guy he was a lucky chap and handed the guitar back, 
    He then said 'I haven't played it in years - how'd you like to have it on permanent loan? Seems a shame that it just lives its days in a case'. 
    Of course I bit his arm off and it became my main gigging guitar. 
    Sadly the chap liked a drink, well to be honest he was an alcoholic ... and within that three years he'd drunk himself to death.