Home Brewing (Complete Noob)

What's Hot

Comments

• hywelghywelg Frets: 4303
    RedRabbit said:

Next step is to make room for a fridge for fermentation.
    That's just about the most important thing you can do to ensure quality repeatable brews. The whole, control the ferment temp, raise temps for a diacetyl rest, drop back down to 14 ° for dry hopping, cold crash to get yeast and hops to drop out makes it so much less reliant on chance. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • RedRabbitRedRabbit Frets: 486
    hywelg said:
    RedRabbit said:

That's just about the most important thing you can do to ensure quality repeatable brews. The whole, control the ferment temp, raise temps for a diacetyl rest, drop back down to 14 ° for dry hopping, cold crash to get yeast and hops to drop out makes it so much less reliant on chance. 
    Yeah, seems daft that I've spent so much on the brewing equipment but I'm leaving the fermentation in the lap of the gods.  Can't find anyone getting rid of a fridge locally so I may have to bite the bullet and buy new.  I realised after posting last night that there's space in the kitchen being taken up by the dishwasher that stopped working 3 years ago.  
  • RedRabbit said:

If you're going to keep the barrel in the cellar it might be worth transferring the beer into the barrel down there.  If you take your fermenting bucket down there once it's finished and leave it a day or 2 the cooler temp will help clear the beer.
    Yes that sounds far more sensible, thanks. 
    hywelg said:
    RedRabbit said:

Fridge, inkbird and heating lamp ordered so I'll have my fermenting fridge setup in time for this weekends brew.

Quite fancy doing a lager now I'll have the means to control the fermentation temps.
    RedRabbit said:
    hywelg said:
    RedRabbit said:

Fridge, inkbird and heating lamp ordered so I'll have my fermenting fridge setup in time for this weekends brew.