Home Brewing (Complete Noob)

What's Hot

Comments

• duotoneduotone Frets: 983
    • Will let you know how I get on & if that recipe is any good. I won’t be using the dried orange peel, but fresh oranges instead.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • RedRabbitRedRabbit Frets: 486
    I'm about to bottle a small batch of an IPA I did with some corriander seed and dried orange peel added at flame out.  It'll be interesting to compare notes on what the orange brings to the beer.

New fridge has arrived and has been set up with inkbird and heater.  I should have paid more attention when I was ordering it though.  The salad draw is shallow and can't be cut back as all the fridge gubbins directly behind it.  Thankfully, there's just enough room for a 25l bucket and air lock sat on top of the salad box but it's close.  When I get one for the keg I'll have to be a bit more careful.
    Brew day plans have changed.  Was going to keg the citra IPA but decided to stick it in the new fridge and try cold crashing as it was still quite cloudy.  Don't have a spare bucket so the 23l porter is on hold.  

Might see what I can pull together and do another small batch experiment the afternoon.
  • hywelghywelg Frets: 4303
    RedRabbit said:
    Brew day plans have changed.  Was going to keg the citra IPA but decided to stick it in the new fridge and try cold crashing as it was still quite cloudy.  Don't have a spare bucket so the 23l porter is on hold.  

Might see what I can pull together and do another small batch experiment the afternoon.
    You might need to isolate the thermostat to get the fridge to go below 5°C. 
    Well it's very slowly cooling.  Guess it takes a while to cool 23l of liquid.

Today's brew ended up being an attempt at a stout.  Only had cascade and mosaic for hops so I guess it's an American stout.  Hit the OG perfectly - should come in around 5.5%.
    RedRabbit said: