Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Your first pay packet and how you spent it.........

What's Hot
RockerRocker Frets: 5037
Mine was when I started my apprenticeship in 1971.  £4.40 take home pay of which £4.00 went to pay my digs for the week.  Even back then Forty Pence did not give me much buying power.  Inflation was running like crazy in the 1970s.  I remember my first new Honda 50 was bought when I was a second year apprentice in 1972.  The repayments cost £1.00 per week but Ten Pence worth of petrol kept me driving all week.

In 1972, a pint of Guinness cost Nineteen Pence, a half pint cost Ten Pence.  Amazing how you can always remember the important things!
Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. [Albert Einstein]

Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FretwiredFretwired Frets: 24602
    Embarrassing .. a pair of platform shoes circa 1974 .. :-)

Remember, it's easier to criticise than create!
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Not sure about the w/e jobs I had as a schoolboy, but the first f/t job I had was a stopgap between me leaving school and going to uni. I was a sales assistant in a crap cheapo electrical good store (Rumbelows, later assimilated by Currys). IIRC I spent my first few pay packets on stereo & records. 
    "Working" software has only unobserved bugs. (Parroty Error: Pieces of Nine! Pieces of Nine!)
    Seriously: If you value it, take/fetch it yourself
  • xmrchixmrchi Frets: 2810