Jacob Collier approach to guitar

What's Hot

Comments

• StuckfastStuckfast Frets: 2427
    edited March 14
    Schnozz said:
    No one else find him insufferably smug? 
    Just another rich London kid. Self-taught? I doubt it.

His mum is a professional violinist.
    And his dad is a vicar.

So, probably not rolling in it.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Power_FreakPower_Freak Frets: 199
    So, the general consensus would be - if you don't like musical equivalent of some hyperrealistic painter, you don't like music?

This is some TGP vibe, there are 60+ classic rock dudes who occasionally discover Polyphia or similar TikTok product, and suddenly it's the future of music and something fresh and never heard before.
    I don't think any has said you have to like it? (At least they're in the minority)

The reason it's getting heated are phrases like: "he can't write a good song" or "SRV didn't need these scales" or "theory = zero feel" or whatever guitar player nonsense that gets said.

In my view Collier is a pop artist (at least that's how he's marketed) - and compared to the one chord vamps that have completely dominated pop music since the success of the weekend, this is a huge step forward for popular music and it should be appreciated as such. Even if you don't particularly enjoy what he puts out, it's incredibly good for music if he becomes hugely successful and starts a "trend" back towards harmony... Even if it's just people starting to write chord progressions again.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 4reaction image Wisdom
  • Philly_QPhilly_Q Frets: 23154
    The reason it's getting heated are phrases like: "he can't write a good song" or "SRV didn't need these scales" or "theory = zero feel" or whatever guitar player nonsense that gets said.