Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

And we wonder why the high street is going down the tubes...

What's Hot
12345679»

Comments

• sev112sev112 Frets: 2897
    Reading the chap from near Chelmsford’s website earlier, I was reading how much he makes it absolutely clear that, whilst he buys and sells hundred of guitars, he is not a company, nor is he based in the UK.  I presume this has to do in some way with paying less tax or something like that ?

what about the big online companies - are they also cheaper because they don’t pay as much tax because they base themselves offshore?  

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • gregmgregm Frets: 49
    I was a sales manager for some large companies in a previous life, it is illegal under Euro law to sell at favorable prices to retailers based on random factors including sales figures. So the cheap beer in the supermarket, the computers/printers in large retailers, the products in duty free shops are not being sold at a lower margin in most cases or without VAT. This is fact and from personal knowledge, you get around the laws by offering rebates and marketing budgets. Volume is king, I was part of a 1 million Sterling rebate to a large retailer that had been given 3 cars to the best sales people the week before.

On the reverse Apple have strict contracts with retailers and the same with Xbox, Playstation etc. The expected margin is 5-7% for the retailer but if you reach targets you get rebates and other incentives. This is not technically legal or fair but the larger electronic companies do this and always have which allow them to sell at lower prices.