Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

2021 Fretboard Running Club

What's Hot

Comments

• BidleyBidley Frets: 2933
    Bidley said:
    I've signed up for Cambridge half! Bit nervous as I've never done a half marathon before, let alone an event. But I did 11 miles last Saturday and will am for 12 tomorrow. 5 weeks to go. Any advice?
    Entirely pace related for me. Set out slower than you think necessary. Try and tune out mentally. I also try and make sure my foot strike is nice and straight and even… I’ve done a couple now, and your legs start to hurt around 16k ish - so it’s about minimising the strain for that last 5k. I give myself a little pep talk around that distance too, as daft as it sounds; reminding myself that as hard as it currently is, if you offered me a 16k head start on completing 21.1k on any given day I’d snap your hand off. That last little bit of focus got me over the line both times. My second one came in at 1:56, which was tolerable… though at the moment just completing is all I aim at. 

That makes sense, I definitely see where you're coming from with the pain around the 16k mark. Pace is something I feel I'll struggle with, what with the adrenaline at the beginning but I'll try and tune out like you say. If I get in under 2 hours I'll be over the moon but completion is the aim! Thanks mate.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • munckeemunckee Frets: 12411
    Bidley said:
    Bidley said:
    I've signed up for Cambridge half! Bit nervous as I've never done a half marathon before, let alone an event. But I did 11 miles last Saturday and will am for 12 tomorrow. 5 weeks to go. Any advice?