Home Brewing (Complete Noob)

What's Hot

Comments

• RedRabbitRedRabbit Frets: 486
    hywelg said:
    RedRabbit said:
    I'd leave it at least a week before sampling. Carbonation should be done by that point and you can decide whether to leave it a little longer or start drinking.

Having just poured my first pint from my pressure barrel I'd suggest not adding any gas until you notice it pouring a little slow.  From just the priming sugar I have, if anything, too much pressure in mine.  Carbonation is fine but the pour results in a couple of inches of head.
    TBH you'll not get beer out of a plastic keg without foam unless you have such little pressure that you're sucking air in,and you really don't want to do that. 

It's the nature of the tap. The best ones have a spigot on the inside of the barrel where you attach a piece of tube to the far side of the barrel, right at the bottom. The smaller diameter the better. 

When you finally move to corny kegs you'll use 3/16" beer pipe to control the back pressure to reduce foaming. 

I've already started with corny kegs but I bought the pressure barrel before I got them and thought a porter was a good candidate for it. Might look at upgrading the tap as I intend to keep using it for porters and stouts.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • MagicPigDetectiveMagicPigDetective Frets: 3029
    edited July 2020
     Caved in and tried a sample tonight after 6 days in the keg. Well, it’s clear, golden, has a light, sweet, golden taste. I can taste some sugar so I guess it needs more time. Not getting any unpleasant flavours. Perhaps I didn’t mess up, it’s looking promising. smile 
  • hywelghywelg Frets: 4303
    Double brewday yesterday. A large mash tun allows me to do 10 gallon mashes, split into two kettles. One a Sabro Simcoe pale ale and the other a Simcoe Rosemary.  Yeast was cropped from the previous DIPA that got kegged mid afternoon, Lallemand American East coast Pale Ale.