Home Brewing (Complete Noob)

What's Hot

Comments

• duotoneduotone Frets: 995
    I haven’t really compared the different options & competition for the Brewster Beacon. Although David Heath has done a good video comparing some different brew systems at various price brackets. Right now I don’t have a lot of space, so don’t really want to buy one.
    I’m happy with my current plan of alternating an extract brew & all grain when I have more time. 
    I’m just not sure how much easier I could make bottling, I’ve got a bottling wand & an auto siphon https://www.themaltmiller.co.uk/product/auto-siphon-56cm/ I don’t know what else could make it much easier.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • RedRabbitRedRabbit Frets: 486
    @duotone don't know why I didn't think of this before but have you looked at pressure barrels?

https://www.charlies.co.uk/young-s-basic-white-barrel-with-co2-injection-system-tap-5g.html?utm_source=google_shopping&gclid=CjwKCAjwgZuDBhBTEiwAXNofRBzOqkrLG-oXac8mIxjYhtrOHJudco8pguIw_JFa4VielcQhfKm27hoCv20QAvD_BwE

Still best to keep them at the temp you want to serve the beer at but mine just lives on top of my fermenting fridge.  It's not ideal but it does the job.

On a separate note, I kegged my IPA this morning.  Used burst carbonation which means it's already drinkable.  It needs a bit more time to reach its best but it's drinking very nicely already.  Used fuggles and first golding for dry hopping.  Much more subtle than an American IPA but there's a bit of fruitiness behind the bitterness.  Think it's going to be a good one.
    @RedRabbit ;
    Thanks for that! Looks deceiving on the website as it doesn’t look like it holds 40 pints, but obviously does.

RedRabbit said: @duotone don't know why I didn't think of this before but have you looked at pressure barrels?