Home Brewing (Complete Noob)

What's Hot

Comments

• RedRabbitRedRabbit Frets: 486
    Just kegged the kveik pilsner after cold crashing since Wednesday.

Took a sample to have a look at clarity (there are reports of skare not clearing easily) and have a pre-carbonation taste.  There's a very slight antiseptic taste to it.  Its not strong, if I hadn't smelt it first I'm not sure I'd have picked up on it, but it's still a little concerning.  Hoping it's just the steriliser as I mixed it a little strong for soaking the glassware and small parts.

Going to leave it to carbonate for a week and will have another taste.

Planning a smaller batch brew later today.  Going to be another kveik but I'm not sure whether to have another go at an IPA recipe I've tweaked or to try a witbier (I think voss should work well for that).
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
    Ended up not having time for a brew at the weekend so it's on now.  Went with the witbier in the end.  Hoping the kveik will mean that it's ready for a BBQ in a couple of weeks.  Fermentation fridge is already sat at 35°c so I'm hoping to get a lot of the orange flavours off the Voss.
  • hywelghywelg Frets: 4303
    RedRabbit said:
    Just kegged the kveik pilsner after cold crashing since Wednesday.

Took a sample to have a look at clarity (there are reports of skare not clearing easily) and have a pre-carbonation taste.  There's a very slight antiseptic taste to it.  Its not strong, if I hadn't smelt it first I'm not sure I'd have picked up on it, but it's still a little concerning.  Hoping it's just the steriliser as I mixed it a little strong for soaking the glassware and small parts.

Going to leave it to carbonate for a week and will have another taste.

Planning a smaller batch brew later today.  Going to be another kveik but I'm not sure whether to have another go at an IPA recipe I've tweaked or to try a witbier (I think voss should work well for that).