Home Brewing (Complete Noob)

What's Hot

Comments

• duotoneduotone Frets: 983
    Today is brew day for: Belgian style Witt
    https://www.themaltmiller.co.uk/product/robs-belgian-witt/
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • RedRabbitRedRabbit Frets: 486
    Enjoy!  The orange never really came through with my witt.  Don't know if it was using kveik that masked it or whether I did something else wrong. I'll definitely be using a more traditional yeast if I try it again though.

I've got a Belgian Tripel planned for a week on Saturday.  It's going to be left to condition for a couple of months to be enjoyed over xmas.
    edited February 2021
    Will let you know how the orange comes through.  Next batch I might use fresh oranges if this 1st batch with the Dried Orange Peel tastes artificial/not good.

I bought ingredients for a Black German Pilsner, so I might alternate brewing that with the Belgian style Witt.

Edit:
    Unfortunately it didn’t turn out well. I bottled one 500ml & left it in the fridge & having tried it again today, it hasn’t improved & not really drinkable for me. Am glad I just did a 5.75L batch, although it’s disappointing poring it down the sink.

Fingers crossed I have more luck with the Black German Pilsner.
  • @hywelg quick question if you don't mind...

I'm planning another kveik brew but I've got a pouch of liquid yeast from Omega rather than the dried stuff I used last time.  The pack suggests using the full amount but, given that it's kveik, this sounds like it could be a serious overpitch.  A quick google brings up suggestions ranging from a single tablespoon to making a 2l starter (definitely sounds like overkill).

It'll be an IPA with an OG of (hopefully) 1.060 so not a big beer by any means.  Aiming to get 23l in the fermenter.  Have you used the commercial kveik strains before?  If so how much would you suggest using?
  • hywelghywelg Frets: 4303