Home Brewing (Complete Noob)

What's Hot

Comments

• hywelghywelg Frets: 4305
    RedRabbit said:
    Hopefully just made a decent upgrade to my brewing gear.  I've finally taken the plunge and have bought a grain mill and a load of uncrushed grain (25kg marris otter, 15kg pilsner and some smaller bags of Munich, wheat, crystal etc).  Hoping to see an uplift in efficiency once I've dialled the crush in.

Was going to brew today but the mounting bolts for the mill were missing from the order and I couldn't find any that would fit.  Planned brews were a pilsner with huell melon (I was going to "cheat" and ferment under pressure) and an IPA with talus and galaxy.  Not sure the latter will be a great combo but there's only one way to find out.
    That should be an excellent combination. But you owe it to yourself to try Talus as a single hop. It's quite complex and truly excellent . Sat drinking mine as I type this and loving it. 450g in the 19l and it's very hoppy. Might try it with 300g next time for a less Cloudwater/Northern Monk type DIPA style. Galaxy is more citrus /sharp and would complement it well, I'd keep it as the minority share though.

Just as a word of warning, I brewed a brown IPA with 400g of hops (Nelson and Mandarina) in at flame out 600g total. It always take me 1min 20 secs to cool from 100°C down to 80°C and I've never had a problem but this time the bitterness is very high indeed. So from now on I will chill first and steep only when the temp is down to 85°C
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • RedRabbitRedRabbit Frets: 486
    hywelg said:
    RedRabbit said:
    Hopefully just made a decent upgrade to my brewing gear.  I've finally taken the plunge and have bought a grain mill and a load of uncrushed grain (25kg marris otter, 15kg pilsner and some smaller bags of Munich, wheat, crystal etc).  Hoping to see an uplift in efficiency once I've dialled the crush in.