Home Brewing (Complete Noob)

What's Hot

Comments

• RedRabbitRedRabbit Frets: 486
    A possible solution I didn't consider before would be a pressure barrel - essentially a large plastic barrel with a tap on it.  You'd carbonate/condition as you have been doing in the bottle but on the whole batch at once and then serve from the barrel once carbonated.  The tap is raised from the bottom so you should pull a minimal amount of sediment while pouring.  There are issues though -
    • they are prone to leaking (either gas or liquid) if not set up 100% properly, 
    • as sold they tend to serve beer with a lot of foam (they can be modded to help with this though), 
    • you need one an appropriate size for the batch you are brewing (harder to carbonate when there's more headspace in the barrel), 
    • unless you have a fridge that you can keep the whole barrel in you'll be restricted to drinking room temp beer. 

Personally, I don't like them but you might be able to make one work for you.  Probably worth some research.

My preference is kegging but it's not a cheap solution.  My set-up is a chest freezer modified to have 4 serving taps and gas lines in, 4 kegs (3x19l, 1x10l), CO2 tank with primary regulator and secondary regulators for each keg and the temp control equipment.

Not tried any Muntons kits but I believe they are well regarded.  The homebrew "twang" is something that's associated with liquid malt extract so all kits of this sort may have it to some degree.  That said, it's not something I recall noticing when I did kits.  Kit instructions always used to promote a short fermentation and I don't have much faith in the yeast that's supplied with some kits.

Best advice I can give is to find some reviews (preferably from experienced brewers) and possibly be prepared to buy a sachet or 2 of dried yeast.  Crossmyloof have a few yeasts suitable for a hazy IPA and The Malt Miller will have loads - Lallemand's Verdant is a personal favourite for the style.