The F1 thread

What's Hot

Comments

• FretwiredFretwired Frets: 24602
    markr76 said:

Unfortunately having standardised parts doesn’t seem to sit well with a lot of the teams. Not sure why. But it’s never been the way of F1.
    I'm not an engineer but I'd have thought having the basics of an engine that teams could customise would work - it would reduce costs but allow teams to tinker and innovate. F1 risks the sport collapsing if Renault and Mercedes leave.

Remember, it's easier to criticise than create!
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • markr76markr76 Frets: 410

sinbaadi said:
    markr76 said:

markr76 said:
    sinbaadi said:
    Again, here we are in a position where the sport is in jeopardy because of frankly stupid and wasteful expense developing engine technology, to the extent that manufacturers are driven out of the sport.  The fact that it "has to be relevant" to their road car engine technology really sums up the problem of the split personality that F1 has.

Manufacturers should be chomping at the bit to participate.  It's supposed to be entertainment!  It's supposed to be a sport.  If the FIA had told the teams that they have to secretly all use the same engines, and save themselves billions, and we the spectators were in total ignorance of that fact, would the racing be any less entertaining at all?!  Wouldn't it arguably have been better for the last 7 or so seasons?  Would we rather have seen more performance disparity?

F1 needs to wake up and make itself a much more attractive place for manufacturers to spend some money on what should be the pinnacle of competition motor-racing.
    So if you were on the board at Renault, Mercedes or Ferrari and you were told you had to use someone else’s engine, you’d agree to that? Watch an engine blow up on track, that’s inferior to one you could build and happily put your logo on the engine cover of the car? I don’t think any of them would agree to that.