Line 6 Helix

What's Hot

Comments

• sgosdensgosden Frets: 1995

I think the issue people have is jumping in and trying to do everything at once. That's where the option paralysis comes in.

As @cabicular did, I also started by using helix to replicate my analogue pedal board (+ a drive pedal). Once I got my head around that I started playing with full amp blocks into a real cab. And last night at rehersals, my band mates didn't even notice I'd switched off the actual cab and was running direct into PA.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Drew_TNBDDrew_TNBD Frets: 22445
    I started off with a similar goal in mind - replace my pedalboard. Then I added in all the extra stuff over time.

Right now my Helix has been my main soundcard, effects pedal board, and amp modeller for ... coming up to 3 months now. I'm at a point where I'm really comfortable with it.
  • SporkySporky Frets: 29171
    edited August 2017
    I did much the same - recreated my previous pedalboard (with some extra facilities).

Now I spend quite a lot of Helix time seeing what happens if I combine things in silly ways.

Yesterday I did a parallel path so that the reverb went through fuzz and tremolo, but the dry signal didn't. That was odd. I might find a use for it at some point.
    "[Sporky] brings a certain vibe and dignity to the forum."
  • peteripeteri Frets: 1284

Question - one thing I'm not liking is the looper.

I have a LT and run bottom row of switches 4 snapshots, top row modifier pedals (so top row reads:

Chorus, Trem, Delay, Drive

Bottom row reads:

Clean, SRV, Angus, Metal

How are people integrating a looper? At the moment I seem to be faced with using a Ditto pedal or similar externally, or a midi controller pedal.

Anything I've missed?

• RolandRoland Frets: 8849